Suicide isn’t painless, especially for veterans

Anyone who has ever seen the hit TV show M*A*S*H is familiar with the opening theme, a song titled, Suicide Is Painless. Did you know that there are lyrics to that song?

Through early morning fog I see,
Visions of the things to be,
The pains that are withheld for me,
I realize and I can see.

That suicide is painless,
It brings on many changes,
And I can take or leave it
If I please.

The game of life is hard to play,
I'm gonna lose it anyway,
The losing card I'll someday lay,
So this is all I have to say.

Suicide is painless,
It brings on many changes,
And I can take or leave it
If I please.

The sword of time will pierce our skin,
It doesn't hurt when it begins,
But as it works its way on in,
The pain grows stronger, watch it grin.

Suicide is painless,
It brings on many changes,
And I can take or leave it
If I please.

A brave man once requested me,
To answer questions that are key,
"Is it to be or not to be?"
And I replied, "Oh, why ask me?"

Suicide is painless,
It brings on many changes,
And I can take or leave it
If I please.

And you can do the same thing
If you please.

Some people call suicide a selfish act, many cannot wrap there minds around the concept, others think, ‘just snap out of it’ and much more.

Suicide has grown into an epidemic around the world claiming nearly 800,000 lives globally each year. Each month 4,000 Americans take their lives by suicide. That’s roughly 130 deaths by suicide every single day. Unfortunately, our country’s veterans, who have chosen to serve and protect our nation in peacetime and war, choose to take their own lives to the tune of roughly 40 veterans a day committing suicide.

The video above shows a clear case of an Army veteran in total distress, feeling that there is no worth to his life and contemplating suicide. My hope is that this individual is safe today and getting the help he needs and deserves. Never should we turn our backs on those who have served their country.

Suicide is no respecter of status, it is a plague that can infect any person from any place for any reason. One’s station in life, their wealth, celebrity status, does not make them immune to suicide — just look at the growing number of celebrities who take their own lives every year.

Fortunately, there is a ray of hope out there. Counseling, therapy, crisis intervention, however you choose to identify it, is more readily available from so many different avenues of outreach than ever before.

We need to help those who need help, especially our veterans. If you know someone, veteran or not, who might need help, please reach out to them in a caring and compassionate way and support your fellow human beings. Ignoring the problem or not getting involved doesn’t help anyone. As human beings we are supposed to be caring and compassionate towards one another, each one of us deserving of respect and equality.

The more people that seek out professional help will only help ourselves be better people as a whole. There is no person on this planet that would not benefit in some way from counseling if they approached it openly and honestly. It brings greater self-awareness and purpose, helping us be better people to others and ourselves.

Suicide isn’t painless. It claims a life, leaves loved ones and friends to deal with the tragic consequences and continues to perpetuate the stigma that has surrounded suicide for decades. It is time to bring this important issue into the light, not hide it behind falsities and misinformation.

As for me, I fortunately have chosen to stay here and find a life worth living. Anyone can do the same thing if they please. It isn’t easy, it’ll fight you tooth and nail, but those who choose to remain will have chosen to live a better life, despite the problems that arise. I’m grateful that I made the right choice. And you can do the same thing if you please.

Counseling saves lives…if you want to see the face of someone that counseling has saved from suicide — look at mine.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑