I Shot A Horse Today

If anyone grew up on a horse farm or has been around horses a lot, you may eventually have to deal with the traumatic event of having to put down a lame horse. If you ever have to witness such a thing, it is one of the worst feelings in the world.

I shot a horse today you see,
Not done with grace or even dignity;
A broken leg will doom a horse,
To a life of torture or great remorse.

I shot a horse today you see,
Unable to stomach the pain for me;
I pulled the trigger and off it went,
To the great beyond whatever that meant.

I shot a horse, today I cry,
Pain came running I cannot lie;
Death come knocking again once more;
To settle a debt, to even the score.

The horse no fault I could not blame,
Having to hide my guilt and now my shame;
For I love all things on this green earth,
Prizing all of them no matter their worth.

It’s different killing a horse you see,
A man knows why I kill for thee;
A horse knows different you see their eye,
No harm to you do they wish to ply.

I killed a horse, today I’m sad,
Could never be happy, never be glad;
The horse I killed could only look back,
Only my face it saw before all went black.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑