The Look At Mine Project

The Look At Mine Project is an idea I have been thinking about for some time now. I decided it was time to stand up and speak out on the subject of suicide.

I began to think, why is it that we wait until a celebrity makes the tragic decision to take their own life before we begin to have an open and honest conversation about suicide.

It seems to be a trend without limits and unceasing momentum. Far too many people, young and old, famous and not so famous choose to end their lives. Each one having their own reasons as to why.

I wondered, while it is a tragedy when anyone takes their life, how many out there have decided that when the darkness and despair came, not to end their life, but rather chose to stay here, figure out a path to freedom and a life worth living.

The idea came to me recently to speak up about my own life and how I choose not to end it, on more than one occasion. While not everyone who chooses to stay alive does so with the help of counseling; some may find a creative outlet in the arts to help them heal, my path to freedom and a life worth living is through counseling. I actively go to my counseling sessions twice a month — and I absolutely love it! Counseling saved my life and I will never let go of it.

So I came up with the name The Look At Mine Project, referring to this statement: If you want to see the face of someone that counseling has saved from suicide, look at mine.

If you ever feel like life no longer seems worth living, you are not alone, so many feel this way at some point in their lives. But there is help, there are others to share with and guidance and counseling is out there but you have to take the first step. Speak up and reach out.

My hope is that The Look At Mine Project will help those who may be struggling in living their life fully and happily to make the decision to save their own life, whether it be through counseling or some other effective pursuit.

It is what you wish to make of it, and it truly is a life worth living.

If you want to see the face of someone that counseling has saved from suicide, look at mine…

Jackie Hemingway

The Look At Mine Project

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑