The Raven Too

One morning that came upon me early,
I was awoken abruptly and feeling surly,
To the sound of an unrelenting rapping;
That soon turned into a constant tapping,
No sound but rap tap tap - and nothing more,
At then what I thought was my bedroom door.

I distinctly remember the bleakness of June,
This dreary morning the raven would croon,
Crooning now against my bedroom door;
Go away! Go away! I shouted - ever loudly,
But the caws came stronger - ever proudly,
Proudly shouted at my bedroom door.

In an angry tussle, throwing back covers in a rustle,
Thrown back not quite like ever before,
Quickly I went to open my bedroom door;
Nothing queer could I sense that was amiss,
Not a raven, not a person - no caw or hiss,
Could be found outside my bedroom door.

To the window my gaze was sent to wonder,
My displeasure of this raven’s rapping thunder,
Go away! Go away! I shouted, as if to chide;
But the fowl only peered deep and dark inside,
Trying to speak some odd message just to me,
But in the darkness of night I could not see.

Go away! Go away! For the morning has come,
But dark of night had not even abated some,
What do you want? Why have you descended? I did implore;
Reminding me of the poem by Edgar written so long before,
Wake up! Wake up! Tis no time to be found sleeping,
It cried on and cried on until it sounded like weeping.

I threw open the window but it did not flit,
Upon my window sill it continued to sit,
Get up! Get up! It cawed unceasing to my face;
In a flutter landing on my shoulder staying in place,
Into my ear it shrieked it’s mournful toll,
Reaching the darkest depths of my pitiful soul,
For whom do you call to mourning you evil bird!?
But it only cawed on to me without a single word,
Death will eventually come rapping to all - whatever for,
Until the raven’s caw ceases and will come - nevermore.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑